2023 F1 standings: Verstappen wins third title

[adinserter block=”4″]

Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen has taken home the title in the 2023 Formula 1 World Championship following the most recent round, the Qatar Grand Prix. It’s this third title in a row.

Verstappen also won in Qatar, meaning he’s won 14 out of the 17 races held this season, and he also managed to rack up 10 wins in a row during the season, which is a new F1 record. The previous record of nine was set by Sebastian Vettel in 2013, also driving for Red Bull. Verstappen is also on pace to surpass his own record of 15 wins in a single season, which he claimed last year, as there are still five races on the calendar. The previous record for wins in a season stood at 13, held by both Vettel and Michael Schumacher.

Verstappen’s massive tally of wins, plus the efforts of teammate Sergio Perez, means Red Bull Racing has also taken home 2023 Constructors’ title. Red Bull claimed the title in September following the Japanese Grand Prix.

Perez hasn’t managed to dominate the rest of the field together with Verstappen. Instead he has delivered an inconsistent performance this season, though he has managed to hold onto second in the rankings. Although showing potential early on, including winning two races, Perez has been hampered in multiple rounds by mishaps during qualifying, in several cases forcing him to start near the back of the grid.

Aston Martin was a big surprise early in the season. Its star driver, Fernando Alonso, has delivered good results. He’s managed to finish on the podium six times, taking third in each of the races run in Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Australia, and Miami, and second in Monaco and the Netherlands.

McLaren is another surprise. It has shown a huge resurgence in performance after the last set of upgrades to its cars. After failing to make headway in the first half of the season, its drivers, Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri, have been near the front of the pack in recent races. They both also made the podium at the two most recent rounds.

Piastri has been the most successful of this season’s rookie drivers. He’s managed to score 83 points, putting him ahead of more experienced drivers, such as Alpine’s Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon and Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas. The other rookies are Williams’ Logan Sargeant and AlphaTauri’s Nyck de Vries, though de Vries is no longer in F1 as AlphaTauri replaced him in July with more experienced driver Daniel Ricciardo for the remainder of the season. Ricciardo, however, has missed the last five races due to a wrist injury suffered during a practice session crash. He was replaced by reserve driver Liam Lawson, who has impressed in each outing, including joining Piastri as a rookie driver with some points on the scoreboard following an impressive ninth-place finish at the Singapore Grand Prix.

Below are the 2023 F1 Drivers’ Championship standings:

1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing – 433 points
2) Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing – 224 points
3) Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes-Benz AMG – 194 points
4) Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin – 183 points
5) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari – 153 points
6) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari – 145 points
7) Lando Norris, McLaren – 136 points
8) George Russell, Mercedes-Benz AMG – 132 points
9) Oscar Piastri, McLaren – 83 points
10) Lance Stroll, Aston Martin – 47 points
11) Pierre Gasly, Alpine – 46 points
12) Esteban Ocon, Alpine – 44 points
13) Alexander Albon, Williams – 23 points
14) Valtteri Bottas, Alfa Romeo – 10 points
15) Nico Hulkenberg, Haas – 9 points
16) Zhou Guanyu, Alfa Romeo – 6 points
17) Yuki Tsunoda, AlphaTauri – 3 points
18) Kevin Magnussen, Haas – 3 points
19) Liam Lawson, AlphaTauri – 2 points
20) Logan Sargeant, Williams – 0 points
21) Daniel Ricciardo, AlphaTauri – 0 points
22) Nyck De Vries, AlphaTauri – 0 points

Below are the 2023 F1 Constructors’ Championship standings:

1) Red Bull Racing – 657 points
2) Mercedes-Benz AMG – 326 points
3) Ferrari – 298 points
4) Aston Martin – 230 points
5) McLaren – 219 points
6) Alpine – 90 points
7) Williams – 23 points
8) Alfa Romeo – 16 points
9) Haas – 12 points
10) AlphaTauri – 5 points

Below are the 2023 F1 season race winners:

Bahrain Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Saudi Arabian Grand Prix – Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing
Australian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Azerbaijan Grand Prix – Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing
Miami Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Emilia Romagna Grand Prix – Canceled
Monaco Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Spanish Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Canadian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Austrian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
British Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Hungarian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Belgian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Dutch Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Italian Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Singapore Grand Prix – Carlos Sainz, Ferrari
Japanese Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
Qatar Grand Prix – Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing
United States Grand Prix – TBD
Mexican Grand Prix – TBD
Brazilian Grand Prix – TBD
Las Vegas Grand Prix – TBD
Abu Dhabi Grand Prix – TBD

[adinserter block=”4″]

Credit : Source Post

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

U Scan Market